Balance the Sacral Chakra for Flow & Joy

Keep your Sacral chakra in balance for greater harmony, flow, and joy! Here’s how…

This week, we’re taking a closer look at the Sacral chakra. (This post is the second in our chakra series, so if you missed the first one, be sure to learn about the Root Chakra here.) The second chakra (Svadhistana) is located in the lower belly area below the navel. It is associated with the color orange and the element of water, and is believed to rule our aspects of sensuality and creativity. This energy center is related to pleasure, abundance, flow, and enjoyment of life. A balanced sacral chakra helps us to feel in harmony with ourselves and the universe, and to freely express our creativity, emotions, and sensuality.

On the other hand, when this chakra is blocked or out of balance, you may experience symptoms such as overindulgence in sexual fantasy – or conversely, lack of sexual desire, difficulty expressing your wants, needs, and desires, impotence, chronic low back pain, urinary tract infections, ovarian cysts, or other reproductive or pelvic issues. You may also feel easily overwhelmed or have difficulty controlling your emotions.

Obviously, an imbalance in your sacral chakra can negatively impact your quality of life, so it is important to take steps to correct this issue. Fortunately, yoga can provide help!

Here are just a few ways to balance your sacral chakra for optimal creativity, pleasure, and emotional expression, according to

  • Practice asana postures that target the sacral area. Some of these poses include Happy Baby, Goddess, and Malasana.
  • Use stones and crystals to balance the sacral chakra.
  • Take a soothing bath with essential oils.
  • Tap into your creative side by enjoying some artistic activities.
  • Practice using affirmations.

Here are a few more ideas for opening the sacral chakra from

  • Left nostril breathing called Ida Nadi breathing will help to open up the second chakra as it brings forth lunar energy. Simply close your right nostril with the first two fingers of your right hand and inhale and exhale through the left nostril, only for 8 to 10 breaths.
  • Seated pelvic circles: Sitting in a cross-legged or Half-Lotus pose with your hands on your knees, make circles with your torso. Go around in one direction 5 or 6 times and then switch directions.
  • Baddha Konasana (Butterfly pose) with forward fold: In a seated position, bring the bottoms of your feet together. Let your knees drop to the sides and bring your heels in close to your pelvis. Lengthen the torso and fold forward.
  • Bhujangasana (Cobra pose): Lie on your stomach with your feet flat on the floor. Place your hands under your shoulders and slowly lift your head, chest, and abdomen while keeping your naval on the floor. Be sure to press down through the pubic bone toward the mat.


More to Explore