Look Inward Through the Third Eye Chakra

Balance the Third Eye Chakra to tap into your inner wisdom and knowledge…

The sixth chakra is the Third Eye (Ajna) chakra, which resides between the eyebrows. This energy center is believed to be the seat of your intuition, and the word “Ajna” means “beyond wisdom.” This chakra is believed to be the key to your inner wisdom and knowledge, and it is thought that opening this chakra enables “sixth sense” abilities such as clairvoyance, lucid dreaming, visualization, and imagination.

The Third Eye chakra is also associated with light, and the color indigo.

While the signs of imbalance or blockage may be less noticeable for many people than some of the other more “physical” chakras, there are still symptoms that can cause problems in your life. A blocked sixth chakra can lead to feelings of disconnection, closed-mindedness, and the inability to “see the forest for the trees.” You may also feel mentally foggy, anxious, depressed, or stuck in the day-to-day problems of life, unable to visualize a clear future.

According to Yoga Journal, you may also notice the following physical symptoms:

As you can see, it is important to balance this energy center. When your third eye chakra is healthy and open,  you will be able to hear your own inner wisdom and trust your intuition. You will be able to see your life with clarity and self-awareness, and make clear and easy decisions. You tend to feel emotionally balanced and able to understand different perspectives, leading to healthier relationships, and a more balanced and fulfilling life.

Balancing the Third Eye Chakra

Meditation, aromatherapy and pranayama techniques can help to open and balance this chakra, and yoga poses where the forehead is towards the floor can also be helpful. Child’s Pose, Dolphin Pose, Camel Pose, Humble Warrior, and Airplane Pose are all good ones to try.

Or try this yoga flow for the third eye chakra…

Missed the earlier parts of this series? Click below to learn more about:

The Root Chakra
The Sacral Chakra
The Navel/Solar Plexus Chakra
The Heart Chakra
The Throat Chakra


More to Explore