5 Elements of Kundalini Yoga

Awaken your spiritual energy & experience life on a deeper level by regularly practicing these 5 elements of Kundalini yoga…

One reason so many of us take up yoga is that we have a sense that we would like to live our lives with greater awareness and intention – something that is often lacking in our modern world of distractions and hectic schedules.

Kundalini yoga and Kundalini meditation can be particularly helpful in helping us tap into a more mindful state. Kundalini meditation is a great way to channel your energy and release stress, while guiding you to a deeper awareness and appreciation of the important things in life.

Kundalini yoga can awaken you to the power of your inner energy, and in tandem with meditation, may help you find a sense of spiritual awakening in all aspects of life.

Before we dive into some of the key aspects of Kundalini yoga, let’s take a quick look at what it is and how it works.

What Is Kundalini Yoga?

Kundalini yoga is a type of yoga that focuses on the release of kundalini energy. Kundalini energy is the energy of the soul that is stored at the base of the spine. When this energy is released, it can bring about physical, mental, and emotional healing.

There are many benefits of kundalini yoga, including improved mental clarity, increased physical strength and flexibility, and improved emotional well-being. Kundalini yoga can also help to reduce stress and anxiety, and can be used as a tool for self-transformation.

The history of kundalini yoga can be traced back to ancient India. Kundalini yoga was first mentioned in the Vedas, the ancient Hindu scriptures. In the Vedas, kundalini energy is described as a coiled serpent that lies dormant at the base of the spine. When this energy is awakened, it can rise up the spine and bring about enlightenment.

Kundalini yoga is often said to be the most powerful type of yoga. It is important to note, however, that kundalini yoga is not for everyone. If you are pregnant, it is important to consult with your doctor before practicing kundalini yoga. It is also important to be aware that kundalini yoga can be intense, and it is important to go at your own pace and listen to your body.

There are many different kundalini yoga techniques, and there is no one right way to practice kundalini yoga. If you are a beginner, it is important to find a class or teacher that can help you to learn the basics, and who resonates with your style of learning. If you are more advanced, there are many kundalini yoga books and DVDs that can help you to deepen your practice (my favorite for both beginners and more advanced practice are the videos from Ana Brett and Ravi Singh).

When beginning a Kundalini yoga practice, there are 5 important elements that you will learn.

5 Elements of Kundalini Yoga

1.) Breath Work

Working with different breathing techniques helps to cleanse and purify the body and mind. There are specific pranayama exercises you can work with. But generally, you can also focus on consciously moving your breath all the way up and down your spine.

This will allow your life force to pass through each of your energy centers.

The most common breathwork used in Kundalini Yoga is Long Deep Breathing. To do this, breathe slow and deep in and out through your nose. Expand your stomach out on each inhale and contract your stomach on each exhale.

Another common breathwork practice is Breath of Fire. This can be practiced by breathing rapidly equal parts in and out through your nose. Pump your stomach to create oxygen in your blood and charge your electromagnetic field.

Breathwork is a great tool to use when you’re feeling stressed or overwhelmed.

Every meditation and kriya has a specific breath and posture which will help to generate or release specific energies.

2.) Mantras and Chanting

The use of chants, sounds, and mantras have the power to signal a chemical reaction in the brain and body which can positively affect your mood. The moods we feel all vibrate at specific frequencies. So chanting a mantra can attract the body to vibrate at that frequency.

Through practice, you can elevate your mood to these higher vibrations and create a more abundant and high-vibe state of mind.

But you don’t always have to be sitting in meditation to use mantras. You can also use mantras in your sleep or when driving. The energy of these sacred tones and sounds will fill your space and attract that energy into your reality.

(Check this page for seven mantras that you can work with to stimulate each chakra.)

3.) Kriyas and Asanas

Kriya” is a Sanskrit word that can be translated as “action.” It is a set of exercises that combine breath, posture, and sounds. Through these specific set of actions and commitments, you can manifest action to take place. This works on all levels of your mind, body, and spirit.

Working your Kundalini energy through kriyas can create an overall healthy and abundant life.

Kundalini Yoga works with a sequence of repetitive movements and asana postures that cleanse the organs of toxins, boosts energy levels, and clears the subtle system. Hatha Yoga also focuses on awakening Kundalini energy through shatkarma, asana, pranayama, and meditation.

One kriya to practice is the Kriya for Balancing the Aura. This works quickly and effectively to protect your energy field. It also builds your physical stamina and elevates your energy.

Below are seven asanas or kriyas that you can work to stimulate each chakra system:

4.) Mudras

Mudras are hand positions that lock and direct energy into different parts of the brain.

Thousands of years ago, yogis mapped out the hands. They figured out how they connected to different parts of the brain and body through specific hand placements.

One of the most common mudras in Kundalini Yoga is the Gyan mudra. This uses the thumb and index finger to stimulate knowledge. To perform this mudra, apply pressure with your thumb to your index finger. The index finger is associated with Jupiter which represents expansion. This mudra will have you experiencing receptivity and calmness.

Another mudra that opens up blockages of communication involves applying the pad of your thumb onto the nail of your pinky finger. Hold this position for one minute and develop the inner confidence to communicate all that you need.

Afterwards, lightly touch your thumb to your pinky finger and channel your communication energy to align with your ego.

Find more mudras here…


5.) Meditation

Meditations can make you feel awakened, heightened, and moved by the energy you’re releasing or creating.

Meditations in Kundalini Yoga are practiced at specific lengths to achieve results. For example, a 3-minute meditation affects your electromagnetic field and overall circulation of the body. An 11-minute meditation begins to alter the nervous and glandular systems of the body. A 31-minute meditation affects all the cells and rhythms of the body, clearing the subconscious mind.

Try this meditation to give yourself a boost of energy. This can be performed when you wake up in the morning or in the middle of the day if you feel drained or depleted.

Find more ways to awaken your Kundalini energy at YogaPractice.com


More to Explore